To teach

Do you remember any of your teachers from your school days? I do! Most teachers have hundreds of people who remember them for the rest of their lives.

Benjamin Franklin said, “Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn.”

Students in DC this summer learned to make butter from cream, a product  from cow's milk.

Students in DC this summer learned to make butter from cream, a product from cow’s milk.

A teacher affects eternity; he can never tell where his influence stops. The true aim of those who teach is not to transplant his own opinions, but to inspire minds.

I was in DC mid-July for the summer meeting of the AFB Women’s Leadership Committee. We, as farmers, must continue to tell our story to keep agriculture a positive part of everyone’s life.

We visited a children’s garden near the Farm Bureau office and met about 36 students from a nearby school. A story about cows was read and the students shook small containers of cream to make butter. I love to watch children’s faces as they learn something new! It is an inspiration to me to be a part of this learning process!

Leave a Reply

