Feeling Lucky!

Last week I had the opportunity to attend the American Farm Bureau Annual Meeting in San Antonio. I came away with many reasons to celebrate but the one that I am most proud of is belonging to a grassroots organization that develops policy from the local level on up.  I have always been a big fan of policy development and when I get the opportunity to follow policies that begin in a county Farm Bureau meeting, work their way through a District Listening Post, a State Farm Bureau Meeting and then on to the American Farm Bureau delegate session, it really makes me proud to belong to this organization.

Farmers and Ranchers from across the country work to develop policy at the AFBF Annual Meeting

Farmers and Ranchers from across the country work to develop policy at the AFBF Annual Meeting

When you bring together such a diverse group of farmers and ranchers, it is not always an easy task but one that is truly worthy to undertake. There was much discussion on many issues throughout the delegate session but in the end, a consensus was reached and a policy package was passed which will enable us to speak with one voice on issues at the national level.
There were great breakout sessions to attend throughout the conference and a trade show that had something for everyone! The Young Farmers and Ranchers were there in full force, leading me to believe that the future of agriculture is in great hands. I was inspired to hear how involved many of them are in ag education and connecting with the people who use our products.

Friends from across the country attended, some I know quite well and some I know more from contact through social media. It is always wonderful to meet people face to face after connecting on Facebook or twitter. Everywhere I looked, I saw people light up with recognition as they were approached by someone they hadn’t seen in awhile.

American Farm Bureau always has fun events lined up to do some fund raising for the American Farm Bureau Foundation for Agriculture. This year was no exception, we had the annual Flapjack Fundraiser where the book of the year was revealed.

The Beeman is the 2014 AFBFA Book of the Year.

The Beeman is the 2014 AFBFA Book of the Year.

The Foundation evening fundraiser was a night made in heaven for this girl! We started off the evening with some bull riding. I grew up around the rodeo and I can’t help but think about my dad when I get the chance to attend a rodeo event. It was a love of his and I loved going with him every chance I got. At one point or another he participated at rodeos at every level from cowboy to clown to judge to announcer. It brings back great memories when I get the opportunity to attend.

Bull riding was one of the fun events at the Foundation fund raiser.

Bull riding was one of the fun events at the Foundation fund raiser.

To cap off a great evening, we were treated to a Josh Turner concert. I have always liked Josh Turner and he put on a great concert for our Farm Bureau family.

Josh Turner entertains the AFBF members at the Foundation fund raiser.

Josh Turner entertains the AFBF members at the Foundation fund raiser.

When it came time to give out the door prizes I thought I would really like to take home a Josh Turner CD to extend the fun from the evening. I didn’t win a CD but then Chevrolet, one of the generous sponsors of the event, announced the final door prize of the night was a trip to the Super Bowl complete with 2 tickets, lodging and travel money. Now I have to tell you, I have entered contests over the years trying to win tickets to the Super Bowl…I LOVE football and the Super Bowl experience has always been a dream of mine. When they made the announcement of the prize, I thought wow, someone is going to win a great prize. To make a long story short, THIS GIRL IS GOING TO THE SUPER BOWL!! Thank you Chevrolet for sponsoring so many events at our conference and for making me feel like a very lucky girl!

Leave a Reply

